Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Alexander Prize

Award Information

The Alexander Prize is named for former UT president and Tennessee senator Lamar Alexander and his wife, Honey. The award honors a faculty member who is “an exceptional undergraduate teacher whose scholarship is also distinguished.”

Award Terms

The recipient of the Alexander Prize also receives a monetary award in the amount of $20,000. Awards will be conferred at the Academic Honors Banquet on Wednesday, May 1, 2024.

Nomination Process

The steps of the nomination process are outlined below:

  • Nominator submits a completed nomination packet via the online form. A completed nomination packet includes:
    • A letter of nomination, not to exceed two pages. A nominator may only nominate one person. The letter of nomination must clearly state how the nominee meets the criteria for the award, i.e., a demonstrated record of service and longstanding commitment to the University community.
    • A curated copy of the faculty nominee’s curriculum vitae, not to exceed five pages.
    • Additional letters of support are not needed for this award.
  • All materials should be submitted as a single PDF.

Nomination Deadline

  • January 17, 2024

Nomination Form